Gordon “Stub” Baker 1927 Service Award Recipients

In February 1998, the Clarkson Alumni Association established the Gordon C. Baker ’27 Service Citation. The award is intended to recognize the importance of leadership and service by alumni to Clarkson’s regional alumni chapters.

The Chapter Service Citation has been named to memorialize Gordon C. “Stub” Baker, for his devotion to Clarkson and his contributions to the Alumni Association.  An electrical engineering major and member of the Class of 1927, Stub passed away on April 11, 1988, leaving a legacy as one of Clarkson’s most dedicated and devoted alumni, a Clarkson ambassador extraordinaire.  For 61 years, the Alumni Association Board of Governors relied on Stub’s leadership, involvement, and most importantly, his enthusiasm for everything connected with Clarkson.  Clarkson events were not truly “alumni events” unless Stub, and his wife Dottie, were present.  Stub had the rare ability to make his fellow alumni feel they had attended college together, regardless of their differences in age. 

Stub was a long-standing member of the Alumni Association Board of Governors and served as president in 1948-49.  He was always active in regional chapter activities, class reunions, and as a Clarkson Fund volunteer.  He was an alumni advisor to many Clarkson presidents, recruited dozens of Clarkson students and student-athletes.  He was a “fixture” on campus, often traveling from his home in Elma, New York to Potsdam to participate in various Clarkson activities.  In recognition of his love for Clarkson, Stub was named as the first recipient of the prestigious Golden Knight Award in 1962.  Stub was truly one of Clarkson’s foremost ambassadors.  It is fitting that this award be named in his honor. 

Award Recipients

JULY 2023

Sarah Cioffi MAT 1990
Lisa M. Jeffers 2003, MS’21
Jeanne M. Lally

JULY 2022

Craig A. Rose 2007

JULY 2020

Peter Karekos 1980 MBA’81
Cesaera Pirrone

JULY 2018

John “Dusty” Rhodes 1978

JULY 2017

Paul F. Zolin 1959
Melanie L. Waldman 2011
Gregory A. Lacey
Elaine Hurd

JULY 2016

Marcy Ziek

JULY 2015

Joan Dindo
Milly Hill

JULY 2011

William (Bill) Jeffers 2001

JULY 2010

Gilmor Ferdon 1959*

JULY 2006

Alfred Rothermel 1948*
Kathleen L. Hersam 1978
Kevin P. McGarry 1993

JULY 2005

Robert R. Burns 1959

JULY 2004

Michael Santarcangelo 1973*
James O. Bourdeau 1986
Kimberly C. Schutte 1995

JULY 2003

Allen E. Winegard 1963*
Michael F. Lynch 1971
Joseph A. Yavonditte 1971
Charles (Mike) Elliott 1973*

JULY 2002

Richard F. Boziwick 1973
Gary J. Johnson 1977
David L. Relyea 1988*
Hannah J. Bell 1995

JULY 2001

David F. Bence 1963
Thomas R. Baum 1969
Robert J. Wallance 1976
Steven C. Hearl 1980
David A. Tromp 1997

JULY 2000

J. Ronald Frazer 1945*
Benjamin E. Feller 1968*
Susan D. McCormick 1979
Joelle B. Maurer 1988

JULY 1999

Lee M. Loomis 1967
Sharon A. Warren 1975
Bruce Bonacquist 1987
Robert D. Kerr 1989
Claudine M. McCormack 1994

JULY 1998

Milford M. “Red” Curtis 1948*
Jay A. Higle 1971
Jeffrey A. Jager 1994

* Deceased Alumni